DA Gauteng announces Shadow Cabinet

Issued by Solly Msimanga MPL – DA Gauteng Caucus Leader
23 May 2019 in Press Statements

The Democratic Alliance in Gauteng has chosen members of the DA Caucus in the Provincial Legislature to stand as Shadow MECs for portfolios and committees.

These members will represent the DA in relation to their respective portfolios and committees to ensure that the executive is held to account.

The list of Shadow MECs is as follows:

Shadow MEC Portfolio
Health Jack Bloom
Education Khume Ramulifho
Community Safety John Moodey
COGTA/ Human Settlements Kate Lorimer
Economic Development Makashule Gana
Finance Adriana Randall
Infrastructure Development Alan Fuchs
Roads and Transport Fred Nel
Social Development Refiloe Nt’sekhe
Sports, Art, Recreation, Culture Lebo More

The Legislature also has committees where vital oversight is carried out, such as SCOPA, where our team is led by Ina Cilliers. Mervyn Cirota leads the team that deals with legislation and the DA is led by Kingsol Chabalala on the Petitions Committee.

These individuals have been selected for their respective portfolios and committees based on their subject knowledge and expertise.

This team represents the interests of the people of Gauteng and will strive to ensure that government excellence becomes the norm, rather than the exception.

The DA will continue to hold the executive to account as we have always done and will ensure that the people of Gauteng do not come second to greed of ANC cadres.